YOUR CHEF, MY CHEF, THE COMMUNITIES…CHEF NICOLE

I met Nicole Pederson orientation day January 9th when I officially signed up for THE SILVERFORK CULINARY EMPLOYMENT TRAINING PROGRAM. As I and my future classmates were registering for the first time during the meet and greet. She introduced herself and to be honest I just remembered her name because for me there was so many other things I had to pay attention to. But I do remember it was her first day as well. She was also new to the Center on Halsted Family. The one thing that stuck out with me was when it was stated the first week we will be working on our knife skills. Again I heard this but class was 2 weeks away so kinda heard it but I didn’t. Oh, boy boy boy was I surprised. The first hour was about knives, potatoes and onions. It was bound to happen I believe their were 2 minor cuts and a minor burn. But that began my journey with CHEF NICOLE and I’m so glad and honored to have been a part of the class. So I decided to ask CHEF NICOLE would she be willing to be interviewed by me for my blog. She said yes of course.

My first question was what was your profession before becoming a CHEF? CHEF NICOLE states she started working in the restaurant business when she was 16, she was a hostess, then she bused tables and then a server. She waited tables while she was in High School, then Community College. While in Culinary School she got her first real cooking job at a Catering Company.
I asked why did you become a CHEF? CHEF NICOLE states she really loves cooking, she was working as a waitress at a small French Restaurant in ST. PAUL and one day the CHEF sat her down and told her he thought she should go to Culinary School. He pointed out that she knew all the ingredients in every dish, she states she asked for recipes to take home and cook. She states and whenever she had free time she would watch the CHEFS break down the Fish and Beef Tenderloin. She states “CHEF said that’s not normal, that she was obviously drawn to it.” She also thought that she would love to travel and that cooking is a skill you can do anywhere in the world, so after their talk she decided to go to Culinary School and give it a shot.
I asked CHEF NICOLE where did she attend Cooking School? She states she went to the ART INSTITUTES INTERNATIONAL IN MINNEAPOLIS.
When I asked her were there any Cities that she worked as a CHEF? She states she has been a Cook in Minneapolis, MN; Near CAHORS FRANCE; Vali, CO; New York City and now she has been in Chicago for 11 years.
I asked her if there was an inspiration to become a CHEF? If so by whom? She says the CHEFS that have inspired and influenced her the most in her career are Marcus Samuelsson, Jason Hammel and Paul Ferzacca. The CHEFS she admires most are Susan Goan, Yotam Otto Lenghi, Anita Lo and Julia Child.
I asked after becoming a CHEF what was the first dish she prepared? She says and I quote. “WHOA, that was a long time ago!” she states she can’t remember just after she graduated from Culinary School she was working at a Restaurant called The Loring Cafe, there was a local guy who brought in Foraged Mushrooms and she bought some to take home. She says she made MU SHU STYLE MUSHROOMS by changing a MU SHU PORK Recipe to use the Chicken of the Woods Wild Mushrooms she had . She says she also made little Pancakes made from scratch. It was a recipe out of one of Martin Yan’s Cook Books.
When I asked CHEF NICOLE how did she decide to be a CHEF at The Center on Halsted? She says she needed a change in her life and that she wanted to work somewhere she was helping people, she recalls when a friend told her about the job she instantly knew she wanted to go for it.
Being a part of the LGBTQ COMMUNITY did she feel she had to prove herself? CHEF NICOLE states she is straight. She states when she was young and working in Kitchens’ she was the only woman, she says she constantly felt like she have to work harder and never take any crap from the Guys. CHEF NICOLE says she knew she was as good if not better and she was going to prove it. CHEF NICOLE says it seemed even harder as she progressed in her career.
When I asked her where does she see herself 5 years from? CHEF NICOLE feels she is in a period of transition, right now it is hard to say Professionally what she will be doing. However she has the soul of an Entrepreneur. She hopes to marry her boyfriend and start a family. Because she says that would make her just as happy as she is now if not happier. CHEF NICOLE and her boyfriend of 3 years ANDREW BATES bought a house last fall and decided to move in for the firs time.
When I asked CHEF NICOLE does she have a dream place to work as a CHEF? She states in her own very successful FOOD BUSINESS that is fully paid off with an Amazing Team and Board to guide them on there Journey.
When I asked her when she is not at work what does she do in her down time? She says she loves to work with her hands, she knits, does gardening and cook a lot at home, she is also studying Spanish and she just started a loom weaving course.
When I asked her does she have any regrets about anything? She says “Life is too short for regrets, I have made many mistakes in my life, I have been mean and impatient in the past, I just try to learn from those mistakes and try not make the same one twice and just keep looking forward.”
I can tell you are passionate about Teaching and Cooking, What motivates you? CHEF NICOLE says she has always been driven to succeed but she thinks when she was young she was driven by fear of failure and as she has grown she now knows that is not good motivation and it leads to bad habits and poor decisions. She says she knows she is driven by the desire to create, whether it is creating Cooks with strong foundation and the desire to learn. Or a simple dish to feed her Friends and Family, CHEF NICOLE says she just wants to create things that makes life better or people happy.

After being a part of the Winter Cohort, me and my Classmates definitely got to know CHEF NICOLE. Speaking for myself I see that CHEF NICOLE is very passionate about her craft and that she has no problem teaching, sharing and guiding you through any and everything there is know about Cooking. She has high expectations for her Students. And believe me she will let you know if you make mistakes or not paying attention. Because like she says if you don’t ask she will assume you know what you are doing. CHEF NICOLE is a very nice person in the Kitchen, you don’t want the Devil Eyes, if you get the Devil Eyes you will be corrected in a heartbeat but it’s only because their is only one way ant that’s CHEFS’ way

I believe in CHEF NICOLE, I know that whatever she strives for she will achieve. The Center on Halsted is very fortunate to have her because she will put her heart into it all.

I wish you nothing but happiness and continued success in everything you want to accomplish. “THANKS FOR EVERYTHING CHEF NICOLE.”

And A word of advice for the incoming cohort. Remember there are only 3 true answers in the Kitchen. Yes CHEF. No CHEF and I don’t know CHEF.

Leave a comment